Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Title: Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices #3)18335634
Author: Cassandra Clare
Pages: 567
Year: 2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Rating: 5/5

Goodreads Synopsis: Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Let me start off by saying that this was one of the best book series I have ever read, and I can’t believe that it took me so long to read it. I am the type of person who is easily discouraged by hype, so I tend not to read the books everyone is excited about. Something I have clearly shown in this godforsaken blog. However, I’m sure there are people out there who would love to read it again for the first time. I feel you, I would love to read Harry Potter again for the first time.

Cassandra Clare wrapped up this trilogy so beautifully; I could not have been more satisfied with the outcome. The writing, the character development, EVERYTHING. This series is perfection. There were so many twists and turns that I never saw coming. I think it’s difficult for authors to surprise readers now-a-days, we all think we have everything figured out all the time. Clare really is a beautiful writer, and after reading City of Bones I can see how far she has come.

Clockwork Princess begins with Adele Starkweather at her marking ceremony. (This is why you take care of your tattoos, children.) The mark she receives causes her gruesome death, and this is confusing to the other characters because Adele is supposed to be a Shadowhunter by blood. (INCONCEIVABLE.) A few bad parenting episodes later, we find out that Adele is a fairy changeling, switched with the real Adele as a baby. SOMEHOW no one noticed that they began with one kid and then one day they suddenly had a completely different kid. This is not the equivalent of losing your child at the grocery store. This is losing your kid at the grocery store and coming home with bananas instead. Later on, we find out some things about Adele that make a lot of sense. I won’t spoil it for you for once, but lets just say that everything comes full circle in the end. 🙂

In the last novel, we met Cecily, Will’s little sister. Will turns from Douche McGee to Big Brother, treating Cecily like a china doll. While I understand being an older sibling and wanting to protect your younger siblings from harm, it felt like he didn’t believe in her. Cecily has spent the last few years taking care of herself, so shouldn’t he realize that she’s grown up a bit from the little girl he left behind? Anyhow, I find it much more amusing to let my siblings make their own mistakes rather than trying to talk them out of everything, but to each his own. I wanted him to give her a chance to prove herself, but she ended up having to take that chance herself rather than it being given.

Jessamine is released from the Shadowhunter Slammer to lead an army of automatons right to the institute gates. Everyone fights, even Sophie and Tessa who have FINALLY gotten lessons to defend themselves. Seriously, we’re on book three and we’re barely throwing punches. Jessamine is killed in the crossfire and dies in Will’s arms, somehow managing to ask him to take care of her dolls. (Which, TBH, should be all of our biggest concerns when we’re on our deathbeds.) Tessa gets kidnapped because she is a damn damsel in distress, and Jem and Will are unable to keep their pants on over who gets to save her.

One of my biggest concerns was that Tessa somehow ends up with both boys in the end. Is it just me, or did this seem wildly convenient? I mean, I’m glad we appeased both Will and Jem lovers alike, but I think she should have picked one or the other. YOU CAN’T HAVE YOUR CAKE AND EAT IT TOO, TESSA. Tessa repeatedly insists that she loves each guy equally, I suppose in an attempt to seem “fair” and “non-biased,” but I wasn’t picking up what she was putting down. If you ask me, it should have been Will from the beginning. But Will operates under AVPM rules (You can’t tell a girl that you like her because it makes you look like an idiot!) and almost missed the boat.

However, I think that Jem (international hero to nice guys everywhere) wouldn’t have had a snowball’s chance in hell if he hadn’t made a move on Tessa. Even when they were engaged, Tessa still thought about Will constantly. You can’t tell me it would be the same way the other way around.  I think Tessa loved Jem, just not in the way that she loved Will.

Finally, we find out what Tessa is and we finally defeat the Magister. TBH that limp noodle should have been defeated in book one, but it’s fine. What isn’t fine is the lack of the phrase, “Automatons Assemble!”

I think my favorite part of Cassandra Clare’s book series is that they all intertwine in some way or another. We meet descendants and ancestors of characters as well as recurring immortal characters like Magnus Bane, and we get answers to questions in one series in a completely different one. I, for one, have fallen in love with this world Clare has created and I cannot wait to read the other books she has written.

 

Leave a Reply

