Top Five Wednesday: Book Trends I’m tired of

“What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre?

The Love Triangle

I’ve said it once, I’ll say it again, I’ll say it a thousand more times. I hate love triangles. They are one of the few things that annoy me about books, television, etc. I get that they are there for the drama and to keep simple-minded people interested, but come ON. They are seriously so unnecessary and really don’t add anything to the plot or help the protagonist grow in any way. The best thing about the Divergent series was that Veronica Roth did not make Tris and Four’s relationship a love triangle, and did the story suffer as a result? (Yes, but not for lack of love interests.) Done. Next.

twilight

Bad Parenting

From Disney to your local bookstore, bad parenting is a trend that has been sweeping the nation for centuries. Why can’t we ever have a book series where the parents are 1) ALIVE 2) Present 3) Loving and supportive 4) Not the villain?? This is a trend in adult novels as well, where the parent is someone that the protagonist wants to get rid of. There are a few contemporary novels that have started integrating good parenting into their ranks, but we almost NEVER see it in any other genre. I get that a responsible, caring parent can be a hindrance when their kid is off trying to save the world, but I’m sure that some author somewhere can provide us with a good example. We’re waiting for you, parents! #Parentslivesmatter

living-parents-dead-parents

Insta-love

Hey, I just met you… And this is crazy… But I’m in love with you… So marry me, maybe?

7708230_orig

BYE. DONE. NEXT. 

dde

Bad YA adaptations

Hollywood has reached a new level of suckitude. I used to get excited when my favorite books were made into films or TV shows, but now I couldn’t be more annoyed. Hunger Games: Disappointing. Divergent: Butchered. Shadowhunters: Embarrassing. Let’s not even talk about The 5th Wave. It’s not like the acting is bad, because they are casting great/well-known actors/actresses for these parts. Of course, while I want to have great actors, I also would rather have someone relatively unknown to play the part. I never see the actresses as the characters they are portraying, and if I go see a movie it is in SPITE of who the actress is. I see it because I already love the book, not because of who is in it. Also, the writing is so CHEESY. They try so hard to be current and funny, but it ends up making me cringe.

divergent-hunger-games-percy-jackson1__opt

Romanticizing abuse

Fifty Shades of Grey I AM LOOKING AT YOU. Are these the kinds of relationships we want to portray to young impressionable women?

14727715_1897049720514394_3637373344459784192_n

Hell no. ******

Honorable mentions:

This book is just like (Insert other book)!

No its not. Next.

16 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Book Trends I’m tired of

  1. chaoticeverything says:

    They completely DESTROYED shadowhunters in the movie and show! So upsetting!!! I didn’t read some of the other books they made movies but I was so upset with how they did shadowhunters cause I was really looking forward to that one.

    Liked by 1 person

      • chaoticeverything says:

        I watched the first season just to see how they would do it and the whole time I was screaming at the tv like “NOOOOO” some things they put in didn’t happen the right way or happened in another book 😒
        The movie was better but it still didn’t match the books right

        Liked by 1 person

      • ReadByChris says:

        I hate it when movies/TV shows go completely off book. Like it’s a bestseller for a reason, you don’t need to change anything too drastically! I can understand if there are too many minor characters like in Game of Thrones or something happens that they can’t portray on screen, but there’s no reason to change the entire plot.

        Liked by 1 person

      • chaoticeverything says:

        Exactly!!! They should just let us bookheads make the movies lmao. Bet they’d be way better with actors that actually match the book characters and sticks to the book story better. And they’d prob make way more money

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Nope Book Tag

Leave a Reply

