March Madness Book Haul

How is it March already? I feel like we just started 2017, and here we are already 1/4 of the way through it! Is it just me, or does it feel like the years went by much more slowly when we were little? I feel like that’s a psychology thing. If someone with those skillz is reading this, let me know if that’s a thing in the comment section.

This is a very late book haul, because I bought these books back in January… But I figured that since most of my readers are book people, then you love hearing about the books people buy just as much as I do. (If there is anything I love more about this, its gushing about someone buying a book I already love and telling them how much I love it.) And if anything, that just makes me want to read that particular book even more.

I bought these books for $1 each at Goodwill, and they are all in amazing A++ condition. If you have ever bought books at Goodwill, you will know how rare it is to find a book that someone hasn’t tried to drown, eat, or throw into a wood-chipper. I actually had to put some books back because I was feeling self conscious about buying too many books and not leaving any for anyone else. (Is that really a problem though?)

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

16181775

Further proof that I bought these books SO long ago… I seriously loved this book, read my review here!

The Glass Castle

7445

I had already read the Kindle sample of this book when I found this one. The only reason I hadn’t already gotten it was the fact that it was $15, and I was waiting for the price to drop before I bought it. This book is a memoir of resilience and redemption, and a look into a family that is both dysfunctional and colorful. I got very lucky at Goodwill and I cannot wait to read this!

The Silkworm

18214414

The second book in Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling’s Comoran Strike series. I don’t have the first book though, so I’m going to have to table this until I do!

City of Women

13593526

I love books about World War II, especially stories about experiences we don’t normally hear about. This one seems a little chick-litty, but I’m sure I will enjoy it!

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

2429135

This is a book I have been hearing about for AGES. I watched the first movie with my Big, and we were so appalled at certain scenes that I completely swore off of it. However, now that a few years have gone by I think I am ready to tackle this series. Wish me luck!

Angela’s Ashes

347884

My mom pulled this one out for me, and now that I’ve read the synopsis I am so excited to read it! This memoir follows the story of Frank McCourt, who was born in Depression-era Brooklyn to Irish immigrants and raised in the slums of Limerick, Ireland. I think this story will resonate with me because of my grandmother, who was also born during the Depression to Irish immigrants. My grandmother was also the child of an alcoholic, so I think this story will parallel hers in a way. (Slightly related: I think my grandma should write a memoir, her story is so incredible and interesting and sometimes I can’t believe how resilient she is.)

The Help

4667024

I’ve already read this one and classified it among my favorites, but who could resist a hardcover copy of one of their faves in perfect condition? I sure couldn’t.

The Devil in the White City

21996

This one is about H.H. Holmes, America’s first famous serial killer. I recently found out that there is a theory that he was also “Jack the Ripper,” which is equally terrifying and fascinating. At the risk of sounding like a crazy person, I think this is a fascinating subject. I’ve already read The Stranger Beside Me by Ann Rule, which is about Ted Bundy, and couldn’t sleep for a week.

One thought on “March Madness Book Haul

Leave a Reply

