Top Five Wednesday: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

In collaboration with the BooktubeSFF Awards, talk about your favorite science fiction and fantasy books of all time!

Ahahahaha…. I don’t read a lot of sci-fi books. I definitely read dystopian and historical fiction, but sci-fi is something that has fallen by the wayside… Oops. I think I’m just going to have to do a combination of books I’ve read and liked, and books on my TBR list! Stop judging me, book people.

Recommend me your favorite sci-fi and fantasy books so I can do this right next time! πŸ™‚

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

38690

I don’t think this needs much explanation. This cover is the version I have at home, and it’s a combination of Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. This is easily one of my favorite books of all time.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

10964

I’m not sure if this counts, but I’m going to count it. Fantasy for 200, please. Ever since I read this for the first time, I’ve been obsessed. I recommend it to everyone. Although, it may appeal more to women than men. #Yolo

Β The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

18712886

I really liked this book. The cover is everything, and Emma Watson is rumored to play Queen Kelsea in the upcoming film. (*Fan girl screech*) I am so psyched because Emma Watson is my biggest girl crush. Not sure when the film is coming out, because I heard about it almost three years ago, which is more like 30 in Hollywood years… but I definitely recommend reading this before it happens!

Β Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

23395680

This is a book I haven’t read, but I have had on my TBR for a while… And by a while I mean since ‘nam. BUT I’ve heard great things and I can’t wait to finally read it!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

I’ve heard such amazing things about Sarah J. Maas as a writer, and I can’t wait to read her for myself. I don’t know much about this book, but it must be good because no one will shut up about it.

Honorable mentions (because I need to shut up about them):Β 

Harry Potter

Clockwork Princess

The Bird and the Sword

10 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

    • ReadByChris says:

      Outlander definitely feels like an epic, but I love how slow it is because reading it is like a journey. It slows down and then picks up and then slows down again, you laugh, you cry… I think it’s so much easier to fall in love with characters when it’s written that way! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

