Top Five Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By

Beware the Ides of March! What books (or characters) did you feel betrayed by, for whatever reason…big or small.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

256683

In case you live under a rock, we find out that Jace and Clary are long lost siblings in this one. This, after Clare uses her powers of teen angst to make you ship them so hard it hurts. And then she drops an atomic bomb on you and all your unrealistic expectations of teen love are shattered.

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

18335634

On this episode of Romance with Cassandra Clare, she resolves her love triangle by letting the heroine end up with both guys. This is such a COP OUT and I hate it.

91bf0866ecd1dddf8d83aeb618f2caa17beeb36a969220234182bcd3d70f7885

You can’t have your cake and eat it too, Tessa!

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

17383918

This book ruined the entire series for me. Not only was killing Tris off completely unnecessary, but it was irrelevant to the plot. She didn’t need to die for the story to continue, Roth just did it to shock her readers. Forgive me if I’m wrong (because I haven’t read this series in a while), but I got the impression that she was on a suicide mission the entire series. Tris was desperate to be a martyr, and poor Four kept having to pull her back.

tumblr_inline_nokdvbnhYB1qjgvhe_500

Her ultimate demise didn’t feel heroic to me, it was almost a relief because I was sick of Tris putting her friends in danger for her own selfish reasons.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

7260188

This book is so rude. KatnissΒ loved her sister, Prim, so much that she was willing to die for her. She goes through the Hunger Games TWICE and sparks a Civil War, all for the love she has for Prim.

24-Alice-in-Wonderland-quotes

*lose. Damn it, internet.

You would think they would have a happy ending, right? NOPE. I felt so betrayed after reading this, because I felt like everything Katniss did was for nothing. The one person she fought to protect above everyone else is killed, by her best friend nonetheless. Are you kidding me? I’m still bitter about this.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

5

Harry Potter endures severe child abuse at the hands of the Dursleys, never knew his parents, and continuously gets himself into life threatening situations due to a nose-less lunatic who couldn’t seem to murder a baby. So when we find out that his Godfather, Sirius Black, is alive and not a murderer, I was thrilled. I thought things were finally going to pan out for Harry and he was going to get to live with someone who didn’t hate his magical guts. And then they pull the rug out from under him. Not only that, but then Rowling kills Sirius off two books later.

spectacular

 

10 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    Completely agree with all your points! I thought that would happen to Harry: nope. I thought that Tris would get over being suicidal: nope. I thought Prim would live: nope. I haven’t read TMI or TID but they both sound annoying!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    The Mortal Instruments is definitely a good choice for this topic. I also think the last book in that series would be a good one since it gave spoilers for The Infernal Devices series which made me not want to give that one a try.

    Like

  3. ChandaReads says:

    I said something similar for my reasoning on why Allegiant was terrible (the shock value). I still get angry thinking about it! I also agree about Gale’s betrayal. 😠😠

    Side note: I used a picture of the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland for my post too, lol. She has the perfect angry expressions πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

