Top Five Wednesday: Future Classics

Let us know the books you think will be considered classics one day!

Nothing like waiting until the last minute to write a time sensitive blog post! I’m sure y’all know the deal. Let’s get started:

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

If you didn’t see this coming, I suggest you buy yourself a helmet. Harry Potter has, and will stand the test of time. I started reading this series when I was 6 years-old, and I’m still reading it as an adult. I can’t wait to read these books to my kids so we can all wish we are wizards together… #mugglestruggles

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

19063

This story is so thought provoking and beautifully written, while teaching us important history lessons. I can definitely see this being taught in high school English classes in the future.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

6493208

This book was given to me as “suggested” reading for my freshman year of college. So obviously I didn’t read it until years after I graduated.  Henrietta Lacks or “HeLa” was a poor black farmer whose cells were taken without her knowledge in 1951, and were vital in developing the polio vaccine, cloning, gene mapping and more. This story chronicles the collision between race, ethics, and medicine, and I think more people could benefit from reading this.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

4667024

As much as I can’t freaking believe that race is still even an issue in real life 2017, that’s all the more reason to add this to the curriculum. While The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and Uncle Tom’s cabin are great discussion starters, I think this is more current and would better resonate with today’s readers.

Persepholis by Marjane Satrapi

9516.jpg

This one is actually a graphic novel, but tells the story of growing up during the Islamic Revolution. Marjane Satrapi tells it like it is and provides a inside look at an important time in history that most have not known.

Honorable mentions:

Maus by Art Spiegelman

I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

The Martian by Andy Weir

Life of Pi By Yann Martel

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

(I feel like a lot of people said this one, but the only reason I almost picked it was to get an updated version of 1984/Lord of the Flies.)

5 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Future Classics

Leave a Reply

