Top Five Wednesday: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

Since I’ve been in video game hell (in a good way) for the past year, this topic is timely. Remember, not all video games are action games! 

The amount of video games I play directly correlates with the amount of skydiving I do. (None.) I have been known to play Mario Kart, and when I was about 12 my friends and I once spent two weeks with the first Kingdom Hearts game, but I am no video game fiend. My knowledge is limited, please dispose of your torches and pitchforks at the door.

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Probably the most obvious answer on my list. This one is basically a video game already, and I think anyone who has read the series has thought about whether or not they would survive. (I would not. #RIP) I’m not sure if the technology for this even exists, but I think it would be really cool if the game could scan your body and create a game character based off of you. Then it would track your movements as you move throughout the game, kind of like exercise. But you don’t even have to leave your house!

OR it could be one of those games like Runescape where you create a character and you can play against friends or strangers.

9b017f92be417efc70222d4c0d629c9c_-hunger-games-on-pinterest-fun-meme-games_473-548

 

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Come on. This series is begging to be a video game! In this game, you would create your own character and enter the world as a mundane. As the story line progresses, you would find out about your shadowhunter powers and have to fight demons in order to “level up” and get stronger, while following a broader storyline. At the end, you would obviously fight Valentine. (I’m loosely basing this off of the PS2 Spiderman game my little brother used to play.)

7f9fd896-cdcb-49a0-a921-ee4f8dfc0d0f.jpg

 

The Crucible by Arthur Miller 

I just finished watching Salem on Netflix, and now I’m on a witch kick. Reading this book in school, I always wondered whether or not I would survive the Salem Witch Trials. It’s dark, but I think it would be cool to do a mystery type game with this book. You would create a character in 1690’s Salem, and the witch hysteria would break out. Either you accuse, or be accused. Find out who the real witches are.

enhanced-buzz-8299-1360269055-2

 

Across the Wide and Lonesome Prairie by Kristiana Gregory

This isn’t original in the slightest, but I used to love playing that Oregon Trail game in
school. One of my friends actually had it at home too, so we would play it for fun alllll the time. Sometimes seriously, most times immaturely. Being 12, we thought it was hilarious to name our characters “The Idiot” or “The Doofus” and send them out into the wild. And later when the game announced that “The Idiot has died,” we would think we were soo clever.

Anyway. They need to come up with an updated version of that game. Hop on the nostalgia train, homies.

rs_560x415-150107143918-1024.Oregon-Trail-Game-MS-Dos.jl.010715

 

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die. Is this a bad idea? (Hint: Nope.)

tumblr_nmokirUfIo1qzgc80o3_500

 

2 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

Leave a Reply

