My Unpopular Book Opinions

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a great Easter weekend! Normally, I would bring you a new review post on the latest book I’ve read, but I’m still working on actually reading it. I picked an unusually long book this time, and I’ve never been able to read two books at once!

You can look for my Discovery of Witches review (hopefully) by next Monday! In the meantime, I thought I would do a quick book tag!

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag was created by TheBookArcher. You can watch the original video here!


1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

I wanted to love Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, I really did. It was a book that was so hyped up for me and I was so excited to read it, but it just fell flat. I couldn’t get invested in any of the characters because I just didn’t like them. The protagonist was the weakest link for me, Juliette was constantly complaining and feigning weakness throughout the novel and I got so sick of it. Supposedly she “came into her own” at the end of the book, but I must have read a different book than everyone else did. The one redeeming factor of this book was the writing style, which I thought was really unique.


2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

I can’t think of an unpopular book that I love, but I can think of an unpopular character…

Everyone I know absolutely hates Sansa Stark from Game of Thrones, but she has one of my favorite story lines of the whole series. I think her story is so tragic, but she is the best example of female strength. Characters like Dany, Arya, and Cersei are so obvious for this trait, but Sansa has floated under the radar for so long. She has endured so much, physically and mentally, and I love how resilient her character is. She has made some mistakes in the past, but I attribute that to ignorance and immaturity. She was a baby when the series started, but she has grown up so much since then.  I can’t wait to see where the next season takes her!

tumblr_o94ywdtkmw1qkor91o1_500


3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn people for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

I didn’t want Katniss from The Hunger Games to end up with anyone. I thought she was such a strong character on her own, she didn’t need a man to validate her. I think that just because she wasn’t a motherly, touchy-feely girl type that Suzanne Collins felt like she needed to make Katniss a little more human and relatable. I just thought that detail was so unnecessary.

200_s (1)


4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Horror, because (1) I read before bed most of the time, so I can’t read something that will scare me to death because then I will never sleep. (2) I just can’t stand gory content. “Better out than in” does not apply here.


5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

I did not like Tris from the Divergent series. I can understand why so many people do like her, but she just wasn’t my favorite. I found her to be reckless, stiff, and having little regard for the people around her. She was constantly trying to martyr herself, and would put her friends and family in danger in order to do so.

Just the fact that Veronica Roth found it necessary to indulge this martyrdom in the end just put me off the entire series. As I have said before, there really wasn’t any good reason for her to die except to shock the readers.

tumblr_n9opqy4Pm81tspmuho2_500


6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

I can’t get into Nicholas Sparks’ books. I just feel like once you’ve read one, you’ve read all of them. I’m fine with just watching the movies instead… #Notsorry


7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

CACKLING. I did an entire post about this. Read it here! 

7708230_orig


8. A popular book / series that you have no interest in reading.

Twilight, The Raven Cycle, Red Rising. I just don’t have any interest in these, despite their popularity. I have read the Kindle samples, so at least I did my research.

i_dont_care_supernatural


9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

I prefer Game of Thrones to A Song of Ice and Fire for many reasons.

  • The show is much easier to follow than the books.
  • The show eliminates unnecessary characters and details I don’t care about like chapter long descriptions of food or someone’s earlobe.
  • The series isn’t even finished.
    • Me. 18089770
  • The show does take some liberties and has eliminated or changed some of my favorite story lines and characters (Lady Stoneheart), but they make sense given the time and money they have to produce it. It’s still my favorite show on television.

tumblr_inline_o9gbifcfmm1swqhzt_500

17 thoughts on “My Unpopular Book Opinions

  1. toomuchofabooknerd says:

    Sansa is one of my favourite GoT characters!!! I’m glad you love her too :’)
    Shatter Me is my favourite series of allll time but I understand that it’s not for everyone! If you’re not invested in the story or characters, you’re probably not going to love it! I do have to say that the first book is MEH though. The story gets a lot better in the sequels! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Royal Reader says:

    Great post! I’ve read Red Rising and despite its popularity, I hated it. You’re not missing much 😀 😀 And I love horror, it always surprises me when people say they dislike it (I’m a total weirdo) but I totally understand what you mean about reading before bedtime and sparing yourself the nightmares 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ReadByChris says:

      I don’t hate horror books, per se… I just get squeamish so I tend to avoid them. The last “scary” book I read was The Stranger Beside Me by Ann Rule, and I had to read a chapter of something else to take my mind off of it. lolol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. wont2beauthor says:

    Wow. I actually agree with all of these but one. Katniss should have ended up along and never could get into Twilight. I tried the books of course and the movies. I get on the Sansa Stark train, though. Yes, her story is tragic but I always like to point out that she hasn’t done anything. If she sucks it up and makes a move that doesn’t ruin Jon I can change my mind or her, but not now. To much crying and feeling sorry for herself and not enough playing the game. Arya, Dany, and Cersei have done that at least.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ReadByChris says:

      I disagree about Sansa. She goes from being held prisoner by Joffrey and Cersei, being mentally, physically, and verbally abused by them; to being manipulated by Little Finger, to being raped and repeatedly tortured by Ramsey Snow. You have to remember that her and Arya and Dany are completely different people in completely different circumstances, Sansa is just doing what she can to stay alive. And quite honestly, I haven’t seen her cry about it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • wont2beauthor says:

        Having a sad story is not enough in Westeros. Everyone has a sad story and she was not nice to Arya. She was stuck up and all about being with Joffrey early on if you remember. Its is by luck alone that she is alive. You have to play the game in my opinion.

        Liked by 1 person

      • ReadByChris says:

        I don’t think it’s by luck alone… After Joffrey killed Ned she was basically their prisoner, and honestly what is one pre-teen girl going to do against a trained royal guard? Nothing. So she pretended to be on their side until she was able to escape. Arya got lucky because she was able to get out in time, but if she hadn’t she’d have been killed a long time ago. There’s no way she would have been able to sit quietly and pretend to be friends with the people who killed her father. Arya and Sansa are different people and have different ways of dealing with things, I don’t think either way is wrong but I also don’t think either of them would have survived their circumstances by acting like the other. If that makes sense.
        Also, I think Sansa was about 11 or 12 (idk) when the series started. You can’t blame a kid for being immature, gullible, or for fighting with her siblings. AND She was all about Joffrey because he was the “prince” (lol) and she didn’t know he was the actual SPAWN of Satan yet. Anyway, she’s definitely playing the game now!

        Like

  4. wont2beauthor says:

    I agree with all of these but one. Katniss should have ended up alone, never liked Triss, and I can’t get into Twilight. I tried the books and the movies. The one I disagree with is Sansa. Sorry for all the Team Sansa fans, but she has to do something. At this point I find her lucky to be alive more then anything else. If she plays the game and don’t ruin Jon I can change my mind, but just being a tragic figure is not enough for me when the Game of Thrones is going on all around you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

