Things That Make me Instantly Want to Read a Book

While I would love to read every book ever published, I have to be a bit (a lot) more selective with my TBR considering that there are only 24 hours in a day, and I’m asleep for at least 8 of them and working for 8 more. Which, only leaves 8 hours for books, hygiene, food, and friends! Who needs a social life when you have books? I say, while surrounded by my many cats and pizza boxes… A’hem. Here are a few things that make me instantly want to read a book!

The Cover

I’ll be the first to admit, I tend to judge books by their covers. If a cover has some half naked couple on the cover sweating desperately in each other’s arms, you can bet your sweet ass that I am not reading that book. Some books that have recently caught my eye are Into The Water by Paula Hawkins, Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler, and The Graces by Laure Eve. Yes, I know these are very diverse covers. I’m a diverse gal.

 

Written by an author I already love

If I’ve already read and loved a book by a particular author, I will instantly want to read the rest of the books they have written. Especially if that book was part of a series.

tumblr_inline_o9g0cpFUGX1rh5a9b_500

Recommendation From Reliable Source

Christine Riccio from PolandBananasBOOKS and Sasha Alsberg from ABookUtopia always recommend books that sound interesting. I’d trust them with my TBR. My family, probably not.

tumblr_mmnc5tZIrb1qfsgyco1_500.gif

Hype

I am definitely not immune to hype. If everyone else is excited about a book, I’ll check it out on Goodreads to see if I also want to be excited about that book. If it’s something I think I’ll enjoy, it goes to the top of my TBR list.

Summary/Blurb

This is make or break for me. If the summary or blurb doesn’t appeal to me, I probably won’t be reading it. Ain’t nobody got time for books they’re not interested in.

7446ed0b5e716394b532a39b08e76243

Sample Read

If a book passes the summary test, then I’ll usually download a sample on my kindle. If I can’t get through the sample, then I know I won’t get through the book. But if the sample leaves me wanting more and desperate to find out what happens next, I’ll usually buy it.

Upcoming Movie Adaptation

This one probably goes hand in hand with hype, but it has to be a movie I want to see. If the movie looks really good and I know it is based off of a book, I’ll usually try to read the book first before the movie comes out. The only book I’ve read post movie is The Book Thief, and I liked the book immensely better. (As always.)

princess-bride-quotes

Historical Fiction

We all know that I’m a sucker for historical fiction, and if you didn’t know, now you know. You know?ย kwtT0.gif

It’s so hard for me to pass them up, especially if its a time period I’m interested by. I especially love reading about World War II. Some of my favorites are The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, and Alicia: My Story by Alicia Appleman-Jurman.


Let me know in the comments if you agree with my list, and what makes you want to read a book!

9 thoughts on “Things That Make me Instantly Want to Read a Book

  1. lostartofreadingblog says:

    This is a great list, and I agree with almost all of it….Except for historical fiction. I haven’t really read any, they just never sound very good, but to be honest I haven’t really given them a try or any real effort at all. Maybe something I should try and expand on this year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

