Physical Books or E-Books?

Physical books vs. E-Books was a topic of major discussion all throughout college for me. Which was better? Which is more practical? Are e-readers putting the publishing industry out of business? Where can people stick their e-readers? I think I’ve heard all the arguments, and I’ve heard all the deprecating remarks about people who use e-readers, but I’d like to know your thoughts. Do you prefer physical books, or e-books?

When it comes to describing physical books, magic is the only word that comes to mind. I love everything about them, from the smell, the crinkle of the pages, the little details and nuances sprinkled in by the publishing company. You don’t get the little stars next to the page numbers in Harry Potter in an e-reader. It’s easy to be drawn in by a book, lured by the possibility of a new adventure, a distraction from the every day, a new life to step into for a little while. With an e-reader, the lure is still there, but it isn’t as encapsulating.

But, I’ll be the first to admit that I love my kindle. If nothing else, for the convenience and the money it has saved me. In college, I bought all my required textbooks in digital format on my kindle. While my classmates spend hundreds on dollars on a physical copy, I spent a fraction of that online. Lugging massive books to class or to the library was never an issue for me, because I had everything on my kindle. I was also able to highlight and mark the pages without feeling guilty about defacing a book. On long trips, I am able to keep an entire library of books in my kindle, whereas previously I would take an entire backpack full of books.

While I would prefer a physical copy of a book, more often I choose the digital version for the price and the convenience. Like I said, I can see the pros and cons of both, but I want to know your thoughts! Which do you prefer? What’s the reasoning behind your preference? Let’s discuss! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Physical Books or E-Books?

  1. Heather Lauren @ heatherlaurenreads says:

    Ahhh! This has argument has been a source of inner turmoil for a very long time! I adore the convenience of ebooks. My nook (yes, I have still have the original nook, but I’m thinking of asking for a kindle for Christmas) fits in my purse so much easier than a big hardcover. But hard covers are so pretty and I get so happy looking at all the pretty books on my shelf. I honestly don’t know where I stand on this debate!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ReadByChris says:

      I have a kindle fire and I love it! I bring it everywhere, and I love how convenient it is to just whip out another book as soon as I finish one. But I also love all the pretty hardcover books on my shelves… I only have one book shelf in my room so I’ve resorted to keeping my books in boxes, drawers, and strategically balanced on my shelves. lol So the kindle definitely cuts down on that and saves me space, especially if its something I don’t plan on reading again. It’s so conflicting though because I want them ALL.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bionic Book Worm says:

    I’m a lover of the physical book for so many reasons. To me, nothing beats the look, feel, and smell of a book. And i find that I forget the story if I don’t have the physical copy. I look at me shelves probably 20+ times a day and I remember what’s written on the pages. Not to mention that unfortunately most ebooks for me are the same price (even more in some cases!) as the physical copy so I don’t really save any money. It would be handy for me to have so many books in one place though!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jennanicolee says:

    Probably one of the BIGGEST debates I hear with other bookworms ha-ha! I love physical books for the same reasons as you; the smell, the feel, the details, the ability to highlight and write my own little small notes and look back at later…I also love collecting books and having my own library in my home. Being surrounded by books makes me feel safe and comforted. Kindle’s and Kobo Readers are wonderful devices though! I tend to use them if I am travelling for a long time so I don’t overload my suitcase (hehe). I also saved a ton of money in school since they tend to be much cheaper and even free sometimes. I don’t see an issue with having a Kindle but physical is my preference 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. charliechatters says:

    I’m a physical book lover myself. Flipping through pages, the smell of a new book, pages undercovered. Its the best feeling.

    Admittedly, I’ve never read an e-book, but I spent a lot of time studying my textbooks on my iPad- maybe I wanted to keep the beautiful experience of discovering another world seperate from all my study?

    I also worry if I only read e-books, would I ever read? Half the fun for me is going into book shops and asking the staff what I should read. Give it a shot next time you’re in a store. You’ll discover something you’d never have picked up by yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mama Cass says:

    I usually get e-books from the library or free from various sites or if a fave author has a book on sale, I will snag it. If I really like the book, I will buy it for both my tablet and for my physical library. I love the smell and feel of the physical books, but I also enjoy reading at night. The tablet lets me change the background color and increase the font which I can’t do with the physical book. Also, I can carry a tablet with me, so I can easily read a different book OR which is cool, I can look up highlights and notes, if I am chatting with another book freak. Great question/discussion Chris

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

