Re-Reading Books?

I’ve always been a re-reader. If I loved a book the first time, I liked taking the time to come back and visit a world I once called home. I loved the comfort of reading something I knew I loved, the way the pages wore and the crinkles of the spine.

I haven’t been re-reading so much lately, but I think its interesting to go back to a book you loved as a kid to see how your tastes have changed. Something that seemed really interesting to me as a kid, isn’t so interesting now. I still appreciate the books I loved earlier in life, but I think its interesting how my tastes and preferences have evolved over time. It’s also fun to go back to books I found quite difficult at one point, because I have found that they are not so difficult anymore. (Part of growing up and brain development, I suppose.)

I’ve learned to view books with a more critical eye as well. I find issues with books now that I didn’t notice when I was younger. While they are still some of my favorites, it’s interesting to see what I notice about them now vs. what I noticed as a kid or teenager when I first read them.

Who else is a re-reader? What are your favorite books to re-read?

15 thoughts on “Re-Reading Books?

  1. 5171 Miles Book Blog says:

    I do love to re-read books too, especially my favorite books. But with my ever growing TBR and new releases it becomes difficult to find the time to re-read them. However, last February was my “Re-reading Month” and I really enjoyed it, plus most of the re-reads haven’t been reviewed by me before. So in the end it was a win-win for me and our blog. 🙂
    I really want to do another re-read month too.
    Sabrina

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christina @ The Bookshelf Corner says:

    I used to re-read books but then stopped when my TBR list kept growing. But I plan to re-read a few books this summer. Re-reading is like catching up with an old friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ayunda says:

    I enjoy rereading, unfortunately lately I don’t do it that often anymore. One of the reasons is because I moved away from my home and I can’t just pick up a random book I haven’t read in years and reread it anymore 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Miguel Galang says:

    I do love going back to favourite chapters in books, but rarely do I reread an entire book lol. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I find that I always have a lot to read – that’s why I don’t get much time to reread.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ReadByChris says:

      That’s really interesting, I don’t think I’ve ever thought about what my favorite book chapters are rather than the book as a whole… What are your favorite book chapters and what makes them your favorites? Out of curiosity. 🙂

      Like

  5. lostartofreadingblog says:

    I never re read I always think I will but I don’t, so many new books I want to read. I also find that I remember the story so well usually as soon as I start reading it I know what’s going to happen and that takes a lot away from the story for me. Maybe once I’m older and some of my favorites are further in the past I might.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

