Top Five Wednesday: Fandoms You Are No Longer In

Everyone has those fandoms they used to be super invested in, and now are no longer a part of.

I’m relatively new to “book fandoms” because I never realized that there were fandoms for books… I also live under a rock.  So I’m just gonna list TV show fandoms I used to fangirl over.

The Vampire Diaries

giphy

I used to LOVE The Vampire Diaries. One of my sorority sisters got me into it my freshman year of college, and I binge watched all three seasons in a week. (RIP to all the time I had on my hands.) I watched Elena and the Salvatore Brothers every Thursday without fail, until the show took a sharp turn for the annoying. They would kill off characters only to bring them back a few episodes later, break up my favorite ships, write characters off the show and bring in new characters that we were supposed to be invested in… etc. When they killed off Elena, the main character of the show, I thought they were done for. Somehow they ended up doing 2 more seasons, ending with a mediocre at best finale. A sad ending to what used to be one of my favorite shows.

Gossip Girl

tumblr_n57u7eQWYo1se8ddwo1_500

This one went up and down for me. Seasons 1 and 2 are my favorite. Lost interest in the middle, gained it back in the last season. Chuck and Blair forever, Dan is a twat.

The 100

68747470733a2f2f73332e616d617a6f6e6177732e636f6d2f776174747061642d6d656469612d736572766963652f53746f7279496d6167652f4a305977734f36414f3569574f773d3d2d3337343734393734342e3134613464343133376134643632.gif

I really liked this show when I watched the first season, I even got my boyfriend at the time into it. I lost interest in it in the second and third season, and I haven’t been able to get back into it.

Witches of East End

tumblr_myl4jkOimq1t1200yo1_500.gif

I loved this show, and then they ended it after only two seasons, and on a cliff hanger too! It’s obviously not coming back, so I’ve let that ship sail. (But you can still watch it on Netflix!)

The Hunger Games

10

I still love this series, but I think it just got waaay over hyped for me. At first, I liked that everyone was excited about a series that I loved, but then it was all everyone would talk about. I think I just got sick of the Dystopian genre. I’ll still pick up the series to re-read, but I don’t think I’ll ever obsess over the fandom again.

 

15 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Fandoms You Are No Longer In

  1. matxi_books says:

    I think TVD is going to be if not in every list in almost everyone!1 I’ve been seeing it a lot and it made mine too!!hehe
    Aww… I still ocasionally rewatch GG because Blair&Chuck… what a pair OMG!! And THG even with all of the buzz is very much alive inside me! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    I totally agree with The Hunger Games, but not so much due to the hype. I simply started losing interest as the books progressed.
    I’m still very much in love with The 100 (this last season was… Wow) and would advice you to try it again because I, too, stopped watching for a while but it grabbed my attention right back!
    Gossip Girl definitely went downhill for me. But it was such a guilty pleasure hahaha
    Great post, Chris! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lost Purple Quill says:

    Definitely agree about The Hunger Games! The peak of my obsession with it hit just before the movies came out, and then once it was EVERYWHERE I just…wasn’t as into it. I didn’t even see the last movie. And like you said, it really killed my interest in the dystopian genre. I was just sick of it by the time all these other dystopian YA books started coming out.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. elliempatten says:

    I feel exactly the same about Vampire Diaries and Gossip Girl. I think I stopped watching TVD not long after Elena started college. I used to really love the show (I was actually obsessed, and read a few of the books too), but it just started to feel really dragged out. I think some shows should quit while they’re ahead, rather than keep going for that many seasons.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. liveyourlifebv says:

    Hey! I love TVD and I’m such a big fangirl of it but even I have to admit that it’s last seasons got a little crazy. I was never a fan of the adding new weird characters because it just messed everything up. There were a few new characters, like Kai, that I absolutely loved. The season without Elena showed you the personalities of all the other characters a little more and I liked that a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

