Top Five Wednesday: Unlikeable Protagonists

People always tear down “unlikeable” protagonists. But tell us the ones you pulled for!

Briony from Atonement

8d1ab558a5d195d286a1d703c139a7de

Don’t get me wrong, Briony is a little shit. But I still felt bad for her because she was only a child when she destroyed everyone’s lives. Everyone makes mistakes, and she didn’t know any better. Not that I liked her much later either, but we can’t all be Keira Knightley, can we?

 

Daisy Buchanan from The Great Gatsby

Film Review The Great Gatsby

Daisy is the most infuriating character. She is the embodiment of everything wrong with society, and a terrible mother to boot. But I couldn’t help but root for her and Gatsby.

 

Anne Boleyn from The Other Boleyn Girl

2dcb793f641b8426ab397d5a75870b5c

Anne wasn’t really a POV character in this book, but I thought she was portrayed rather monstrously. Yes, she’s the ultimate homewrecker and her ambition was her ultimate downfall, but I still felt sorry for her. She was executed under false charges, her only real crime being her inability to produce a son after being married to Henry VIII for about 3 years. Thank God people aren’t allowed to execute their ex-wives/husbands today.

 

Rachel from The Girl on the Train

853801a65f279ace1ad98286fff5935a

Low self esteem, check. Unemployed, check. Alcoholic, check. Rachel was not a particularly likable protagonist, and at times I suspected her of more malicious behavior. However, I still rooted for her and hoped that her obsession with Megan was worth the trouble she went through.

 

 Sansa Stark from Game of Thrones

poor-sansa.jpg

So many people hate Sansa, and I can understand everyone’s hatred. There are many more traditionally strong women on the show and in the book, and Sansa has the appearance of someone who is weak. However, I think she’s super underrated. She makes some big mistakes right at the start of the series, but I attribute her naivety to her age at the time. Rather than fighting openly against a room full of enemies, she plays the game until the odds fall in her favor. Arya, as much as I love her, wouldn’t survive long in this situation.

3 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Unlikeable Protagonists

  1. allonsythornraxx says:

    I totally agree that Sansa is underrated, I get so caught up in how annoying she can be but then I have to remind myself that she’s apart from what family she has left and she’s only a young girl (I’m only on book 3 btw).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

