Top Five Wednesday: Hate to Love Romances

Ask and you may receive. By request, a topic all about your favorite hate to love romances!

(EDIT: It appears that I interpreted this very differently than everyone else did. YOLO.)

 

Katniss and Peeta

tumblr_mw9y5hhbbi1rz2cbjo3_500

Why I hate it: Because Katniss did not need to be in a relationship in order to be happy. Love triangles are the bane of my existence.

Why I love it: Because Katniss needed someone to lean on, and to protect in turn. Peeta’s vulnerable and thoughtful nature was the perfect contrast to Katniss’ robotic and impulsive character.

 

Romeo and Juliet

858593206

Why I hate it: Two teenagers/children decide that they are in love after knowing each other for, at most, five minutes. They can’t live without each other (*sob*) so they both commit suicide. Dramatic. No chill whatsoever.

Why I love it:Β It’s William Shakespeare at his finest. A lesson to all authors about what happens to people who “love at first sight.” (lol)

 

Betsy Ray and Joe Willard

betsyjoe

Why I hate it: Betsy and Joe meet when they are 14, and then proceed to be rivals all throughout high school. There is so much early 20th century sexual tension between them, and it is palpable.

Why I love it: They get together in the end, after 5 or 6 shenanigans.

 

Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy

tumblr_m68ey0bFGC1ryrby9o1_500.gif

Why I hate it: Mr. Darcy is unforgivably rude to Elizabeth and her family and attempts to sabotage the relationship between Jane and his best friend. Elizabeth befriends his nemesis and refuses his marriage proposal because he’s the worst.

Why I love it: We find out that Mr. Darcy isn’t actually the spawn of satan, and he rights all of his past transgressions against Elizabeth and they live HAPPILY EVER AFTER.

 

Diana Bishop and Matthew Clairmont

a discovery of witches - deborah harkness

Why I hate it: Their relationship is very random. One moment, they hate each other and the next moment they are married. Diana is too dependent on Matthew, and completely falls apart when he leaves.

Why I love it: I really don’t have an answer, I just love them together! They have a really interesting dynamic, and I can’t get enough of it.

4 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Hate to Love Romances

Leave a Reply

