Top Five Wednesday: Children’s Books

This can include Middle Grade (but try to recommend more than just Harry Potter and Percy Jackson!) Feel free to talk about your childhood faves or more recent reads.

Let me start out by saying that Harry Potter is forever at the top of this Top Five, but I’m trying to branch out. In fact, I’m going to try to mention books that I’ve never mentioned before on this blog. A feat not yet attempted previously by man. I have read books other than HP… I swear. Let me demonstrate.

The Little House Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Books.png

I haven’t read this series in a very long time. Partly, because I lent the first book, Little House in the Big Woods, to my fourth grade teacher and she NEVER GAVE IT BACK. Rude. Hopefully some kid is reading it right now and falling just as in love with the series as I was back in the day. (Which is always a Wednesday, by the way. ((10 points if you got that reference))). Not only did I devour this entire series, but I also read the series by Rose Wilder, Laura’s daughter, and the series about Laura’s mother, Caroline. The obsession was real.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

693208

I’m not sure if this book falls more under Middle Grade or Young Adult fiction, but I loved this book when I read it in middle school. I found the illustrations and the writing style hysterical, and I loved reading about Junior’s struggles to make a better present and future for himself.

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein

370493

This is still one of my favorite books of all time, although I believe I have lost my copy somewhere in the construction site that is my house. It’s organized chaos, but I still can barely find my feet, being so far from my face. Okay, I’m only 5’4, so it isn’t too much of a stretch.  I’m not sure where I’m going with this. Oh right. Shel Silverstein. Live him, love him, read The Giving Tree. (And Where the Sidewalk Ends!)

The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine

183656

Gail Carson Levine is the ultimate Children’s Fantasy writer. While Ella Enchanted is her most well-known book, this one is her best book. It’s a tale of two sisters, one brave. the other not so much. When older, braver sister, Meryl becomes ill with the Grey Death, it’s up to cowardly Addie to find the cure to save her beloved sister. But not without battling dragons, ogres, gryphons, and more.

Madeline by Ludwig Bemelmans

475339

“In an old house in Paris that was covered with vines 
Lived twelve little girls in two straight lines 
In two straight lines they broke their bread 
And brushed their teeth and went to bed. 
They left the house at half past nine 
In two straight lines in rain or shine- 
The smallest one was Madeline.”

First published in 1939 (what??!), Madeline is a tried and true classic. I adored this book as a child, and I can’t wait to read it to my own kids!

 

Honorable Mentions, because I can’t mention them enough and as I said, I’m trying to branch out:

Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Betsy-Tacy Series by Maud Hart Lovelace

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Dear America Series by Assorted Authors

And to Think That I Saw it on Mulberry Street by Dr. Suess

Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

And ANY Book by Margaret Peterson Haddix

4 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Children’s Books

  1. Lost Purple Quill says:

    Madeline!! I loved Madeline so much when I was younger, I had so many of her books. Also The Little House series. Those books seemed like the longest, thickest books in the world when I was little and I had a hard time getting through them on my own but my mom would read them to me, which I think made them more special. Lovely choices!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

