Top Five Wednesday: Second Book is Best

We’ve talked about series that went downhill, and series that are worth it, but which series were best in the middle?

I’ve been seriously slacking on my Top Five Wednesdays lately, and for that I’m sorry. I have no excuse except that life has gotten away from me the past few weeks and I am slowly trying to get back into my routine. I may do a post on what has been going on later, but for now, let’s get into this week’s Top Five Wednesday!

A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

10396652

This was the only Song of Ice and Fire book that I just flew through. I’ve only read the first three books in the series, but this is one I really loved. I know it’s the third book in the series, but it’s the best I’ve read so far. Once you get past the long winded descriptions of characters that show up once, it really is a fantastic series.

The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, by C.S. Lewis

140212

This could be considered the first, or second book in this series depending on how you look at it. Chronologically, it’s the second book, and that’s the way I’m considering it for this post. This is the best book in the series, hands down.

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

5364

As much as I love Outlander, I think Dragonfly in Amber is one of the better books in the series that I’ve read thus far. I love the way it’s written, all the new characters we are introduced to (Brianna and Roger!!), and the intrigue of French Court contrasted with the Scottish Jacobite rebellion.

Pretties by Scott Westerfield

24768
I think this book is more powerful than Uglies because it shows how strong a character Tally really is. She overcomes her superficial “pretty-minded” mentality, and is able to think clearly about what is happening around her. The commentary on today’s society is very apparent, as we are so overloaded by media and the internet telling us what and how to think that we barely ever have an original thought on our own. Pretties teaches us to question authority, and to not overlook something because “that’s the way it’s always been.”

 

Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder

77767

This was my favorite book in this series growing up. Positives: the trip out west, family dynamics, adventure. Negatives: racism against the Native Americans. While this book was published in 1935 and reflects the views of the time, I think it could do with some editing in 2017. I didn’t notice the racist elements to this book as a child, but it definitely isn’t a concept that I would want to introduce to my own children.

Leave a Reply

